Offline robinson1509

• Camps in backyard!
    • View Profile
Vr6 overhaul
« on: November 20, 2015, 07:58:58 pm »
Several years ago I purchased a 99 eurovan with a 12v vr6, it had about 99k miles on it. It had an obvious timing chain rattle but it ran good so I ignored it. I drove it for a couple years and put about 25k miles on it before the timing chain failed.  I studied the manual and decided to remove the engine rather than the transmission. I have done a few engines over the years but this was the toughest. After getting towed home I got to work on the teardown. Stripping the block bare so I could squeeze it out, the parts laid out the length of the van. By the following afternoon it was ready to pull. I had broken a few bolts off in the process. I chained up the block and grabbed my crowbar,  a few pumps on the hoist and the engine was out. I removed the upper chain cover. The damage was extensive.  All the plastic guides were destroyed, the upper guide pin was erroded by the chain to the point that the part number was no longer readable, and pices of the gides were sucked into the oil sump strainer. The lower cover removal was tough because a triple square bolts on the torque plate stripped. I used my phone to find and order parts on the fly and parts begain to arrive before I had the engine clean. I put the chain and guides in and the timing was almost done. I put on the upper cover and installed the tensioner so I could crank it a few times. I turned the crank and it came to an abrupt stop and It was then I realized my valves had crashed. I disassembled my chains and pulled the head to find the intake valve had been sheered off and punched a hole in the top of my number five piston.  My first thought was to go cheap and replace the broken pieces but I was in too deep so I decided on a complete overhaul. I disassembled the block and sent it over to the machine shop to have it bored 40 over. With the 82mm pistons it would be a small 3 Liter. Pistons, injecto